Fantasy Booking: Rewriting Boxing

This Saturday, Cotto vs Canelo is live on Pay Per View. The last big boxing match on PPV was Mayweather vs Pacquaio and it’s safe to assume that Cotto/Canelo won’t match the numbers that Mayweather/Pacquaio produced but it won’t leave fans feeling disappointed or cheated out of their money.

The on-going Puerto Rico vs Mexico rivalry continues with two of the best boxers in the world.

I’ve had this debate with my friends and colleagues here at the Mark Broussard Report that boxing has way too many officials, weight classes and championships. Sometimes I’m confused because I’m not sure who’s in what division or who’s the champion.

Let’s break this down.

Boxing has 4 sanctioning bodies.

  • International Boxing Federation (IBF)
  • World Boxing Association (WBA)
  • World Bocing Council (WBC)
  • World Boxing Organization (WBO)

17 weight divisions

  • Junior Bantamweight
  • Flyweight
  • Bantamweight
  • Junior Flyweight
  • Strawweight
  • Featherweight
  • Junior Featherweight
  • Junior Lightweight
  • Lightweight
  • Junior Welterweight
  • Welterweight
  • Junior Middleweight
  • Middleweight
  • Super Middleweight
  • Light Heavyweight
  • Cruiser weight
  • Heavyweight

With the 4 sanctioning bodies awarding championships to each divisions, there is at least 68 championships. I say “at least” because some divisions have one champion listed and have awarded other fighters an interim championship. Make the championship picture even more confusing.

Here’s a list of the champions from

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Looks confusing? Try explaining boxing to a friend. 

So then I sat down and looked at the UFC and saw they only had 8 weight divisions and only 1 interim champion (Conor McGrehor) and that will be handled when Jose Aldo and Conor McGregor face each other at UFC 194 on December 12th.

I thought to myself “What if boxing was regulated like UFC?”

So we are going to try and break this down today.

First, we will shorten and realign the weight divisions.

Then we will look at all the potential top matchups.

Flyweight Division

– Champion: Roman Gonzalez

Weight divisions absorbed

  • Junior Bantamweight
  • Flyweight
  • Bantamweight
  • Junior Flyweight
  • Strawweight
  • Featherweight
  • Junior Featherweight

Top contenders

  1. Nicholas Walters
  2. Donnie Nietes
  3. Shinsuke Yamanaka
  4. Guillermo Rigondeaux
  5. Naoya Inoue
  6. Carlos Cuadras
  7. Juan Francisco Estrada
  8. Carl Frampton
  9. Pedro Guevara
  10. Nonito Donaire
  11. Anselmo Moreno
  12. Gary Russell Jr.
  13. Hekkie Budler
  14. Kohei Kono
  15. Kazuto Ioka

Bantamweight Division

– Champion: Takashi Uchiyama

Weight divisions absorbed

  • Junior Lightweight
  • Lightweight

Top Contenders

  1. Jorge Linares
  2. Takashi Miura
  3. Kevin Mitchell
  4. Roman Martinez
  5. Darleys Perez
  6. Orlando Salido
  7. Dejuan Zlaticanin
  8. Javier Fortuna
  9. Terry Flanagan
  10. Jose Pedraza

Featherweight Division

– Champion: Terence Crawford 

Weight divisions absorbed

  • Junior Welterweight
  • Welterweight

Top Contenders

  1. Manny Pacquiao
  2. Timothy Bradley Jr.
  3. Keith Thurman
  4. Viktor Postol
  5. Kell Brook
  6. Adrien Broner
  7. Lucas Matthysse
  8. Lamont Peterson
  9. Amir Khan
  10. Shawn Porter
  11. Danny Garcia
  12. Errol Spence Jr.

Lightweight Division

– Champion: Canelo Alvarez 

Weight division absorbed

  • Junior Middleweight

Top Contenders

  1. Erislandy Lara
  2. Jermall Charlo
  3. Jermell Charlo
  4. Demetrius Andrade
  5. Vanes Martirosyan
  6. Austin Trout
  7. Carlos Molina
  8. Julian Williams
  9. Liam Smith

Welterweight Division

– Champion: Gennady Golovkin

Weight divisions absorbed

  • Middleweight
  • Super middleweight

Top Contenders

  1. Miguel Cotto
  2. Andre Ward
  3. Peter Quillin
  4. Arthur Abraham
  5. James DeGale
  6. Badou Jack
  7. Robert Stieglitz
  8. Andy Lee
  9. Billy Joe Saunders
  10. David Lemieux

Middleweight Division

– Champion: Sergey Kovalev 

Weight division absorbed

  • Light Heavyweight

Top Contenders

  1. Adonis Stevenson
  2. Jean Pascal
  3. Bernard Hopkins
  4. Andrzej Fonfara
  5. Juergen Braehmer
  6. Artur Beterbiev
  7. Yunieski Gonzalez
  8. Kato Murat
  9. Issac Chilemba
  10. Eleider Alvarez

Light Heavyweight Division

– Champion: Denis Lebedev

Weight division absorbed

  • Cruiserweight

Top Contenders

  1. Krzysztof Glowacki
  2. Marco Huck
  3. Grigory Drozd
  4. Krzysztof Wlodarczyk
  5. Ilunga Makabu
  6. Victor Emilio Ramirez
  7. Ola Afolabi
  8. First Arslan
  9. Rakhim Chakhkiev
  10. Yoan Pablo Hernandez


– Champion: Wladimir Klitschko

Weight division absorbed

  • Heavyweight

Top Contenders

  1. Alexander Povetkin
  2. Tyson Fury
  3. Deontae Wilder
  4. Ruslan Chagaev
  5. Bermane Stiverne
  6. Kubrat Pulev
  7. Bryant Jennings
  8. Vyacheslav Glazkov
  9. Steve Cunningham
  10. Carlos Takam

Clear and to the point. Picture how many big fight Pay Per Views every year with these top 10s fighting for 1 belt in each division. With so many sanctioning bodies and so many weight divisions, it waters down the competition, it leads to questionable bookings and who’s who of champions.

What do you think of this booking? Leave a comment and let me know.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s